2021-2022 Executive Committee

President: Alissa Cherry

Alissa is a doctoral student at the University of Toronto, studying Social Justice Education and Workplace Learning and Social Change. Formerly the Director of Education for Reel Works Teen Film-making, Alissa is a prominent diversity and representation advocate for young people in the media and entertainment industry and has organized internship programs, job shadowing, and workforce development programming for young artists. She has previously worked in the US assisting in the development of technical union training for early career members in the areas of theatre and film production, labor development programming with the City of New York’s Office on Media and Entertainment, and made steps towards equitable and inclusive changes in the hiring practices of various production and entertainment companies. You can contact Alissa at president@cupe3907.ca.

Office Hours: Mondays 1:00 – 2:00 PM EST


Vice President: Justin Holloway

Justin Holloway is your CUPE 3907 Vice President and LHAE Department Chief Steward. Justin has nearly twenty years of experience working as an administrative staff member at OISE. He has been an active member of USW Local 1998 during that time and has served in various steward, bargaining, and committee positions for that union. Currently he is a full-time PhD student at OISE in the Adult Education and Community Development Program. Now as a CUPE 3907 member, he has stepped-up to support the local and help other OISE graduate assistants with any concerns they have for which this union might be able to help. This includes any questions regarding our collective agreement, your rights under the agreement, and your rights as a student and worker at U of T. Please feel free to email Justin at vicepresident@cupe3907.ca or lhaesteward@cupe3907.ca if you need any assistance in this regard, or if you just want to talk.


Recording Secretary (TBA)

CUPE 3907 by-elections for the position of Recording Secretary are now open. Positions will begin on December 19, 2021 and end on April 30, 2022. More information to come,

Treasurer: Diana Barrero

Diana is a doctoral candidate at the University of Toronto. As a committed member of the OISE community, she currently serves on the OISE Council as a graduate student representative. In the past, she has also been a steward with USW 1998’s casual unit (2017-2018), the Internal Coordinator of the CTLSA (2016-2018), and CUPE 3907’s Recording Secretary (2020-2021). In these various roles, she has worked to serve the interests of a diverse graduate student body and promote decision-making that is participatory, collaborative, and transparent.

If you have questions about the Financial Assistance Fund, you can contact Diana at treasurer@cupe3907.ca.

Office Hours: Wednesdays 1:00-2:00 PM EST


Chief Steward: Wales Wong

Wales is a 5th year PhD candidate in the CTL Department. As Chief Steward (2019-Present), Wales informs members of policies, advocates for members’ rights as graduate students and workers, investigates possible grievances, and stands up as an ally for CUPE 3907 members. Wales works closely with CUPE 3907 members to represent workers’ perspectives on issues by voicing the values and interests of the graduate worker community and be involved with union activities at the local, provincial, and federal level. If you have any questions or concerns regarding your rights as a graduate assistant, reach out to Wales any time at chiefsteward@cupe3907.ca.

Office Hours: Thursdays 12:00 – 1:00 PM EST


Past Executive Committees

2020 -2021 Executive Committee